Posted by: heartfull | May 7, 2009

Blue Ribbon!

I obsessively checked the website yesterday.  They said the results of The Greater  St. Louis Science Fair would be posted the day after the judging.  And they weren’t.  At least not at 6:00 am when I first checked.  Or at 6:10, 6:12, 6:23…

Why?   Why were they torturing me.

Better yet, Why?  Why did I care?

Anyways, Bird got a blue ribbon!  She got a red ribbon at the school district science fair, which made this extra sweet.  The district gave us her score sheet and most of what she had received low points for were technicalities that were easily fixable.  She added a section on safety,  she documented how we ensured constant conditions.  We went to the library and studied some books so we could add a bibliography.

So, we put a lot of hard work in to the experiment back in March.  Of course, we did it all the week before the District Fair.  Because I’m a master procrastinator, that’s why.  But!  For that week, we were obsessed.  Or, well, um, maybe I should say I was obsessed.  Bird was tortured.  But!  She did all the work, and I can say that with all honesty.  I definitely made helpful suggestions or told her she had to do something she wouldn’t have been inclined to do on her own.  I might have had to raise my voice a time or two five twenty.  But it was her work.  And I’m proud.

And in the end, that is the reason I cared.  So much.

*********************************************************

The project title was “The Great Ice Shape Melting Race”.  She froze water in different shapes (Cube, Rectangular Prism and Sphere) and then melted them in the oven to see which shape melted the fastest.  Bird hypothesized that the rectangular prism would melt the fastest because it has the most surface area.  The three trials proved her right.

Leave a Reply

Categories

