Posted by: heartfull | April 23, 2009

words

I occasionally come across words that I’m not completely sure I understand.  Generally speaking, context usually fills in the gaps and I move on.  Sometimes, though, context isn’t enough.  That is where dictionary.com comes in.  Invaluable.

Sometimes I resist, for unknown reasons, looking words up.  Perhaps I am obstinate?  I wonder why everyone else seems to know the definition of say “nee” or “natch”.  Maybe if I just read it in context one.more.time????  But no – eventually, I head over to dictionary.com to confirm what I have inferred.

So, I have solved my “nee” and “natch” problem over time.  But I never got around to “nonplussed”.  It isn’t a word that is easily inferred, since it usually describes someone’s reaction to something and is purposely vague.  But today I had had enough and finally got around to looking it up after reading it in this.

I found out:

non⋅plus

–verb (used with object)

1. to render utterly perplexed; puzzle completely.
–noun

2. a state of utter perplexity.

.
.
I guess it is appropriate that I allowed myself to be flummoxed by that word for so long.
:)
Leave a Reply

Categories

