Posted by: heartfull | April 2, 2009

T-59 Days

As I posted before, I have a goal for this spring.  Since mid-March, I have been really working hard at getting a good walk, bike or whatever in each day.  I step on the scale each morning and record the number in my FitDay journal then proceed to feel depressed or elated accordingly.  I record every morsel that enters my mouth throughout the day on FitDay as well.  Me and FitDay are becoming close friends.

I had tried to avoid getting all anal about what I was eating.  I had lost 40 lbs four years ago by doing the exact opposite, in fact.  After reading The Fat Fallacy, I let go of any preconceived notions I had about fat consumption and focused on eating an all-natural diet, enjoying deliciously small portions of food three times a day that made me satisfied by including dairy fat in my cooking.  And it worked.  But somehow over the past two years I had lost my ability to stop eating when I was full.  I started to snack between meals.  I returned to my American ways and quickly gained 20 lbs.

So, I decided I needed to get anal for a while to get myself back on track.  Enter FitDay.  I’m enjoying it, too.  Sure, it is frustrating when the scale moves up and down seemingly willy-nilly.  But the big picture is I have lost 6 lbs over the past three weeks.  Of course, that number might change to 5.5 or even 5 lbs tomorrow, since my weight seems to fluctuate wildly on a day to day basis.  Sigh.

All of this effort, though, is just to get me back to my old size.  The size I was pre-Chip.  I have no aspirations to get back to my all-time low:

magcover

That involved a lot of exercise and very little food.

Last night I committed (again) to the 30 Day Shred.  I know I need the weight lifting to help increase my metabolism and for overall physical health.  Sticking with a DVD is hard, though.  We’ll see if I can do it for 59+ days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

