Posted by: heartfull | January 28, 2009

Territory Wars

Chip, as I have said before, has co-slept with us from day one.  Just like his sisters.  Unlike his sisters, though, he doesn’t have another bedroom to call his own.  He has a dedicated drawer in my dresser.  He has two baskets on John’s shelves.  His books are in the girls’ room and his toys are scattered around the house in the basement.

I’ve felt a little guilty over the years about this.  I don’t think he is suffering, but I am bothered by the fact that he doesn’t have a place to call his own.  I learned this week, though, that Chip sees things differently.

Last week I asked him to get something out of my bedroom, I think a book on the nightstand.  He looked at me and informed me he would, but it was his room.

A couple days ago, John was thinking about the addition we are planning as he laid in bed helping Chip go to sleep.  He asked Chip if he would miss sleeping in mom and dad’s bed.  Chip informed John “This is MY bed.”

******************************************

In light of these differences of opinion, I have to wonder if Chip will actually move out of our room, even when he has one of his own.  The only time I regret his presense is in the mornings when I’m getting ready for work and I have to be super-quiet, getting dressed in the dark and using the bathroom mirror instead of my vanity for makeup and hair styling.  That is such a small thing, though.  And the feel of my baby’s arm wrapped around me while he drifts off to sleep or his hand resting on my shoulder as I sleep is such a big thing.

I don’t see him leaving any time soon.

Responses

  1. I feel the same. I love having him there especially when I wake up and he’s wrapped around my arm or sleeping with his hands touching you and his feet touching me. I feel like we are providing him with some kind of reassurance that we love him and will protect him…(or maybe I’m just reassuring myself). Sometimes it’s inconvenient, but I know it’s temporary and I’ll miss him when he’s in his own room at night.


Leave a Reply

Categories

