Posted by: heartfull | December 9, 2008

is overreacting all over the place.

I breathed a sigh of relief on Friday after having received the email from Mrs. J.  OK, my kids are ok.  They are doing well.  I have not failed them.  I felt good again.

It lasted about 8 hours.  Bird came home from school with her assessment packet that afternoon and I was floored.  Her reading and writing skill tests were fine but the math skills were not.  Needless to say, I freaked out.  Again.

Here is the weird part:  Bird was ridiculously excited to show me these assessments.  She wanted to sit down one-on-one and pour over them so she could hear the praise that she is so used to receiving.  With my heart thumping I tried to focus on the reading comprehension, writing, social studies tests.  But when we got to the math tests, I told her in all honesty that I didn’t see much to be proud of.  She got mad and stomped off, but I didn’t care – I can’t let her think that marginal work is praise-worthy.  After a while, we talked some more and I told her what a great year she had been having and we would just have to work extra hard to catch up again.

John and I fretted all weekend.  I had a knot in my stomach.  I just wanted Monday to get here so I could get some answers.  Yesterday morning I sent an email to her teacher.  I checked my computer all morning, knowing that this teacher always responds quickly.  And she did – right when I was in the middle of a conversation with someone about work.  So I had to sit there (at my desk) and actually work (the horror!) while some guy finished up his really boring story about his invoicing travails.  When he left (finally!), I opened up the email:

The test with 78% was a hard review test and just looking over the areas where she struggled for a quick review is all that is important.  It was a MAP practice/ prep test and we want them to stay encouraged!  She is doing AWESOME!!  If she has a couple tests wtih 80’s not 90’s it’s okay!  She is SO smart!!

I have to run now, but we can chat more later!!  Don’t worry, mom!!  She’s doing great!!

*****************************************

Yeah, great, except now I feel all stupid and picture the teachers sitting around the staff room gossiping about that crazy-uptight mom who freaks out over everything.

*****************************************

Can you tell by my blog title that I have discovered Facebook?  Well, in all honesty, I’m not quite sure I really get it.  But I’m doing it nonetheless.

Responses

  1. Well…you could relax some….perhaps when you get the PTO tax thing done. But, I don’t think you were wrong to be concerned nor do I think the teachers would think negatively about your interest. The teacher complaints I have always heard are about not having enough parental concern. We needed the explanation regarding the 78%.

  2. I solved the tax issue – I have an appointment with a CPA tomorrow morning :). I decided I wasn’t going to deal with it anymore.

  3. Excellent decision, IMHO.


Leave a Reply

Categories

