Posted by: heartfull | October 16, 2008

Everyone *loves* a good jazz square…

My stomach has been filled with anxiety over this dumb select soccer business.  Mostly, I’m worried that I’m pulling Mare too soon, not giving her a chance to improve.  My brain tells me that isn’t the case.  John tells me that isn’t the case.  The coaches pretty much told me that isn’t the case.  And if Mare didn’t love the team so much, I wouldn’t be so worried about it.  But she does, and I am.  So in an effort to alleviate the angst, I signed her up for a jazz class.

Backing up, Mare has been wanting to take a “Cheetah Girls” dance class that we heard about a couple months ago.  I had told her that she couldn’t take it while she was doing soccer since she also already does gymnastics and my lands this all costs a lot of money.  And time!  I don’t like spending this much time in the freaking minivan!

Her desire to start a dance class, though has allowed me to twist reality just a bit and convince her that the discontinuation of the select soccer team is more her choice as opposed to mine or the coach’s.  The last thing I want is for Mare to think that she wasn’t good enough to keep playing.  Because that wasn’t true.  Yet.

The class we originally learned about, though, was only offered at an inconvenient studio and only on Saturday mornings.  Bleh.  I don’t like Saturday morning commitments.

On Monday I found out that a local studio, Lucile Rapp, has a jazz class that uses Hannah Montana, Cheetah Girls and High School Musical music.  Lucile Rapp is super close and the class is at 4:30, which is great, though I would actually prefer 4:00 so I didn’t even have to get out of the van after school pick up.  The instructor invited us to a sample class on Wednesday.

Mare loved it.  She is jazzed.  I thought it looked like a lot of standing around (the instructor needs an assistant), but if she is happy, I’m happy.

Can I admit, though, that I’m worried?  Will you kill me?  Here is why: I have avoided Lucile Rapp.  Bird takes ballet at The Dance Center – but it offers nothing but ballet/tap combo until age 11 and completion of their series of fundamental ballet classes.  Mare is totally not interested in ballet.  She wants jazz.  Great – Lucille Rapp has jazz.  But it also has invitation-only lines. This is like “select dance”.

You know, I just want my kids to be kids.  I want them to try a variety of activities without pressure.  I want them to feel like they are awesome at what they love because we all know that feeling doesn’t last much past 5th grade.  I don’t know if Mare can dance.  I will tell her she is awesome and has serious groove.  But soon enough she’ll realize that there are lines. Maybe her friend will be invited to be on one.  And maybe Mare won’t.

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

Categories

