Posted by: heartfull | September 26, 2008

Playground Games

I have had just about enough of a certain child at school.  There have been several incidents that I won’t detail, but whatever, we handled them.  Yesterday, though, Bird came home and taught me her newest  hand-jive thing (what do you call those games little girls play while slapping each others’ hands and singing rhymes?) and I was, um, floored.  To put it mildly.

While waiting for dance to start, Bird asks to show me what she learned today from She-who-will-not-be-named.  So I hold my hands out and Bird asks me for a name.  She vetoes any name I mention saying “Moooooooom, you won’t be happy if you use that one!”  Hm, I’m thinking, what is this about…?”  We finally decide on Micky Mouse.  So, Bird starts slapping my hands and singing about how “Micky is a lot of fun!  A lot of fun with his pants undone!”

Ack.

Not OK.

I stop her and look her in the eyes and told her that she might not know what that means, but adults do and it is very inappropriate and actually very serious and I never want to hear that rhyme again.  Bird’s eyes got very big and she nodded and I felt terrible about having to cut short the fun when she was sharing a game with me that she had just learned and was very excited about.

At bedtime I reiterated what I said earlier.  I asked her to repeat the rhyme because I was thinking that I was mad enough about it that I might just call the teacher.  Bird wouldn’t repeat it, though, so I dropped it.  I then told her that I thought it might be a good idea to avoid this particular child since this wasn’t the first time she had taught Bird something I did not like (though the last song was more annoying than nasty.)

I’m really mad and had I not already complained to the teacher last week about something else pertaining to this child, I would probably whip off an email and press send.  Appropriate or not.

I know as Bird gets older she will be exposed to more and more of these kinds of things.  Nine, though, is too young.  I can handle rhymes about k-i-s-s-i-n-g and babies in the baby carriage.  But this was nasty, whether the girls know it or not.  What bugs me is it seems like all these things are coming from one child right now and I want Bird to stay away from her.

Responses

  1. Oy. That’s hard! I hope you can figure out a way to keep the language appropriate…

  2. The worst of it is… that girl probably DOES know that it is nasty. I wouldn’t want my daughter hanginga round her either. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

