Posted by: heartfull | August 27, 2008

Catching Up

Since coming back from vacation, I’ve had a lot of catching up to do, which means no time to post.  Having my priorities in the right place really sucks – because blogging is more fun than just about anything else.

School started.  Bird is doing beautifully so far.  Still reading above her grade level and seems to be doing ok in math.  Sadly, she has already adopted a bad attitude about math.  She lists it as her least favorite thing about school.  Obviously, this is because she doesn’t excel at it.  Practice makes perfect, and practicing math is just not as much fun as practicing reading.

Mare is having a bit of a hard time adjusting to full-day school.  She tries to get out of leaving Emmy in the morning – though her teacher says she is fine once she arrives at school.  She seems to be in a state of flux with regards to her friends.  Since it has only been a week, I’ll cut her some slack before I start worrying about her social life.

Charlie, on the other hand, loves Mare’s full day status at school.  He is thoroughly enjoying being an only child for 8 hours a day.

I’m thinking about joining a YMCA so I can sign Chip up for swim lessons.  Right now he is fearless in the water.  He loves to jump in and swim to us under water.  He can’t actually swim – he uses the forward motion from his jump to “wiggle” towards me while under water.  Then he reaches out and grabs me to pull himself up out of the water.  If I weren’t there, he would drown.  But the point is, he isn’t afraid to be fully submerged for the 5 seconds it takes him to do this routine.  And he does it over and over and over.  I’m afraid, though, that if I don’t get him lessons he will forget his fearlessness and next summer could be completely different.  We’ll see – I would have to give up something to join the Y, and I don’t know if I want to do that.

John starts a new job in a week and a half.  Exciting!  This is the type of job he hoped to get when he graduated from the MBA program, so we are hoping it turns out to meet our expectations.

I started training for the next half marathon a couple weeks ago.  I really, really enjoy the group I’m running with.  I think I can meet my goal of sub two hours – if.  IF.  If I loose 15 pounds.  Otherwise, I think I’ll end up injured.  You just can’t run these distances safely with extra weight on you.  Grrrrr.  All that is to say, I’m working on it (again.)

Responses

  1. Sounds like a good beginning to the school year. And good luck to John in his new job! As for the weight…. you can do it! I have faith in you! Now if I could only lose some weight…. LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

