Posted by: heartfull | June 24, 2008

Sisters

Bird and Mare have a pretty typical relationship, I think. In summary:

If sisters were free to express how they really feel, parents would hear this: “Give me all the attention and all the toys and send Rebecca to live with Grandma.” ~Linda Sunshine

Except then they would be jealous that she got to go to Grandma’s by herself.

Every night I give the girls a hug and a kiss for each year that I have known them. We end it with one to grow on and a quick recap of what they did that day to make me proud of them. Or not – sometimes it’s a conversation about how tomorrow will be better. Lately they have been whining about how I gave one or the other more “mommy time”. Apparently, I should be bringing a stopwatch in with me and timing the interaction to ensure complete fairness.

I would like more sisters, that the taking out of one, might not leave such stillness. ~Emily Dickinson

Bird has been so much better since school let out. She is, truly, a different child. And yet, she still has her moments, with Mare bearing the brunt of those times.

Big sisters are the crab grass in the lawn of life. ~Charles M. Schulz

Even so, Mare’s philosophy has been pretty close to this:

I know my older sister loves me because she gives me all her old clothes and has to go out and buy new ones. ~Author unknown, attributed to a 4-year-old named Lauren

Though, Mare is starting to lose that sweet innocence. She is becoming wise to her sister’s injustices. And, as I have said before, she is excellent at playing the victim when in fact she is the perpetrator.

More than Santa Claus, your sister knows when you’ve been bad and good. ~Linda Sunshine

I don’t know who Linda Sunshine is, but I’m thinking she had a lot of sisters.  Heck, who am I kidding – she only needed one.

So at last night’s swim meet, my heart melted when Mare told me that she was very nervous before her first race, but having Bird sit right behind her in the bullpen gave her the confidence to do the race.

Sisters function as safety nets in a chaotic world simply by being there for each other. ~Carol Saline

Overall, I think Mare and Bird are close and I hope their friendship withstands the years to come. And even if it takes a break for a couple years, I know from my own experience that it most likely will return.

Sisters is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship. ~Margaret Mead

Responses

  1. Very nice!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

