Posted by: heartfull | May 28, 2008

healing

My skin is peeling off on my burned hand. It is really gross and embarrasses me multiple times a day. But! It gives me a conversation topic at my many social events. My friend told me last night at the school picnic that yes, she knew about my trauma because I had gone on and on about it Friday night at a party we both attended. I told her that if she remembers my tipsy talk, she needs to drink a little more.

And then I obsessed about my lack of social skills for the rest of the picnic and on into the night. I mean, really, with my excellent conversation skills, is it any wonder I’m not, in actuality, invited to more social events? I mean, who doesn’t want to hear about my burn, in detail?

Jeez.

**************************************************

Bird’s teacher next year is fantastic and her two good friends were put in the same class. I really like these girls (and their moms!) and I’m excited for her to be forming friendships with them.

***************************************************

Mare’s first grade teacher is excellent, I’ve been told. She also intimidates me because she is so quiet and put together. I feel like I’m a tornado next to her mountain breeze. Then again, I feel that way a lot.

Two of Mare’s friends are in her first grade class. One girl, Ellen, is very sweet – the last time she came over for a play date John was working from home and could hear them playing. He said he has never heard so much giggling in his entire life – Mare and Ellen had that good of a time. That said, they had to be separated this year when they were sitting at the same table – too much giggling for the classroom apparently.

****************************************************

Mare’s friend’s dad is starting a “Pre-Select” soccer team and asked Mare to be on it. Not because she is good, I think, but because she showed some degree of aggressiveness and she is friends with his daughter (who is very good.) This makes me a little nervous, but we’ll go with it.

****************************************************

The kids had a great time at the school picnic. Bird was excited that the other kids beat up on her (part of a game, I assume) and Mare was too busy socializing to eat.

Chip spent the entire 1 1/2 hours trying to make other kids laugh. He charmed his way into the center of a gaggle of older kids and they had fun laughing at him – although there was one bout of tears because they wouldn’t give him their ball. Meanies.

Responses

  1. I always worry that I am incredibly boring. Because all I can talk about anymore is the kids. So, I obsess about it and try to plan things I could talk about that would not be boring. And then, when I actually have someone to talk to…. all they want to talk about is the kids. Ha.


Leave a Reply

Categories

