Posted by: heartfull | May 8, 2008

The Letter I

We have two Sesame Street DVDs, and when I watched them for the first time, I wondered if my two most-remembered animated skits would be on them.  One, “Number 9 Cutie” is on 123 Count With Me, and whenever that segment plays in the van, I hit the back button about 20 times, listening and singing along to it while my kids scream in frustration.

The other clip I’m seeking was about the letter “I” and featured little men with ladders, coming out of the letter and scrubbing it.  The song that accompanied the animation was haunting, if I remember correctly.  When it would come on when I was a kid I would watch with a mixture of fascination and dread.  It creeped me out, and yet I couldn’t take my eyes off it.

Babble had a column on The 50 Best Sesame Street Moments and I eagerly clicked through them looking for my “I” song.  It wasn’t there, though Ladybug Picnic, a forgotten favorite, was.  Based on that column, I felt sure I would find it on You Tube.  Nope.

Sigh.  If anyone has a link to my lost Letter I skit, I would love to see it again!

Huh.  That last plea sounds like one of those recipe requests people send in… “Great Aunt Florence used to make the best Bologna Pie!  It had cabbage, onions and rutabaga piled on top of bologna and sandwiched between two pie crusts.  If anyone has a recipe similar to this, I would love to make it for my family!”

*******************************************************

On that note, congress recently voted to cut its funding of CPB, which effects PBS, NPR and other publicly funded media.  I’m livid and plan to write to my representatives and let them know it.  If you value public media, please do the same.

Responses

  1. I remember that one! If I find it anywhere I will let you know…. I am always on the lookout for the one about 12 that has a pinball machine. My DD thinks I’m crazy because of this fascination with Sesame Street. But, I remember watching even when I was 12! LOL LOL LOL

  2. I still love to watch it! It used to be on right when I would get home from work and I would turn it on and lay down with Mare and Bird, trying to get them down for a nap (never worked.) It is no longer on at 12:00, I don’t think, so I haven’t seen it in a while.

    It just has so many nuances meant for the parents. Nothing can beat Sesame Street for cross-generation entertainment.

    That said, my kids LOVE Super Why, Word World, and Dragon Tales.


Leave a Reply

Categories

