Posted by: heartfull | April 14, 2008

Thoughtfulness

This month is April Showers, the Girl Scout event where hundreds of bags are left at doorsteps all over your neighborhood and picked up again the next weekend after you have filled them with personal items that are then donated to the needy.

Last Sunday my troop came over to help drop off the bags. Remember that other thing I did last Sunday? That thing called a half marathon? All I can say is it was very hard to walk around my neighborhood that afternoon, feigning cheerfulness, while my body screamed at me for not allowing it to lie in a prone position in my bed.

This Saturday the troop came over to collect, count and deliver the bags to the drop off location. Eleven Brownies in my house was ten too many. I was stressed. While they all want to help, there just isn’t enough to do for them all to keep busy and so it was chaotic. Some of the girls lost interest and wandered off to jump on by basement furniture. Lovely. Some preferred to bang on the piano. While their mothers listened and nerves frayed. Others were at least kind enough to run around outside. The most nerve wracking, though, was the presence of Sharpie markers in the hands of 7 or 8 girls, dangerously close to my new leather chairs and wood coffee table. That part was enough to send me over the edge.

We finished, though, and I gaily waived as they all exited and breathed a sigh of relief as I put my house back together.

Sunday morning one of the Brownie Moms slipped a Starbucks Gift Card through my mail slot that said thanks for all the work on April Showers. I don’t think I can express how much that small gesture meant to me. I can’t wait to use it, and while I’m there, I’m going to by another gift card so I can pass on the love to other volunteers in my kids’ lives.

Leave a Reply

Categories

