Posted by: heartfull | December 27, 2007

What a Great Christmas (Is it over already?)

We had a wonderful Christmas this year. The kids were thrilled with their gifts. It was pretty relaxing and so much fun to watch their excitement.

As is our tradition, I had my parents and my sister over for Christmas Eve.  My brother and his family go to his In-laws.  I always make Ina Garten’s spaghetti and meatballs and her bread pudding.  The green beans were featured in this month’s Cooks Country.  The rolls were Sister Schubert’s.  Best darned Spaghetti and Meatballs every, if I do say so myself.

Christmas morning started bright and early.  We are talking 3:30 am when Bird woke up and wanted to get started.  Um.  No way, child.  She gave it up, but pestered us every hour after that until Mare woke up and we finally gave in and woke Chip up at  6:30.

I’m sure it is my last to enjoy where all my kids believe in Santa.  Bird was asking a lot of questions, and talking about how Santa must buy gifts because even her doll wardrobe had a “Made In China” sticker on it (this was her gift from Santa at Grandma’s house.)  She loved her fish tank but was aware that Santa could not have made it since there were instruction manuals that looked very mass-produced.  She was a little disappointed in the amount of “boxed” toys – craft kits, board games, etc.  This is, of course, a function of her growing up.  There weren’t “toys”.  I wished afterwards that I had wrapped up a stuffed animal for her.  Hindsight can be annoying.  Grandma gave her a pair of roller skates and she put them on and left them on the rest of the day.  She skated all over Grandma’s house – it was very cute, though I dare say my siblings were a bit annoyed.  Oh well – one day a year.

Santa scored big time on Mare’s gift.  He found a huge stash of sea-themed stuffed animals at Toys R Us – including a giant penguin that was softer (though a bit smaller) than the Melissa & Doug version.  Softer is always better when it comes to stuffed animals.  Santa also brought her a matching smaller penguin, a sea lion, a white seal, and two dollar-store penguins who are officially Peep’s siblings.  The giant penguin was christened “Big Mama” and she loves it.

Chip loved his spring horse.  That thing is de-lux.  All the kids ride it.  He also got a really cool airplane that is launched by a “gun”-thingy, which dad loved as much as he did.  Lots of boy-toys all around, and Chip was thrilled.

After opening our gifts, we went over to my moms and opened gifts there with my whole family.  Finished that up about 2:00 and then we played games, watched movies, and read until dinner at 5:00 or so.  We had a lovely dinner  – prime rib,  potato au gratin, green beans, salad, rolls, wine.  It was relaxing and fun.  The day flew by.

Its hard to believe it is over and I’m back at work.  Sigh.

Leave a Reply

Categories

