Posted by: heartfull | December 3, 2007

Bedtime Topic (again)

We have to figure out the bedtime thing with Chip.  I feel guilty about how late he is staying up – the girls easily go to bed by 7:30 or 8:00 (though they don’t necessarily fall asleep, as I have said before.)  Chip, though, sleeps with John and I and I have fallen into the habit of going to bed with Chip instead of putting him down.  Which is fine when I plan to go to sleep at 8:00 or 8:30.  But not so much when I have things to do.

Last night Chip was tired would have gone to bed much earlier than he did, but I just didn’t want to stop what I was doing.  I really wanted to get stuff done.  The better me would have stopped.  I would have spent 45 minutes getting him to go to sleep, then resumed my household tasks.  The actual me didn’t want to stop, knowing that if I did, it would be really hard to get going again.  I love waking up to an organized house – kitchen clean tidy, toys put away, most of the piles hidden.  I even vacuumed last night, dang it!  I wanted to get it all done.  And I did, but at Chip’s expense.

Maybe someday he’ll have his own room.  In the mean time, I have to get him on more of a schedule.  Tonight!  I’ll start tonight…

Leave a Reply

Categories

