Posted by: heartfull | November 14, 2007

A real, live, holiday party invitation! I hope they have fun.

I am ecstatic as I rip open the large envelope and withdraw the card. It is lovely. It is green and red and gold and beautifully scripted. I scan the invitation. My friend and her mom are co-hosting a Holiday Tea. Oh – sounds nice! My first, official, grown up holiday party invitation. I carefully place it on our family board and head over to the computer to put it in our family Outlook calendar. I’m giddy. For about 2 minutes.

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo… (foot stomping and pouting ensues.)

Bird’s holiday choir concert is the exact same day at the exact same time. I can’t even bring my self to call my friend and tell her I can’t go. I keep hoping some miracle will happen, like maybe it will be decided that her mother doesn’t really need to attend her concert or, more likely, I’ll acquire Hermione’s time traveling device.

Responses

  1. If you track down that device, may I borrow it when you’re finished? Thanks!

  2. Oh, and you should come to our blogger meetup. Ya know, if no choir concerts or teas conflict.

  3. I can’t believe it! I receive another, albeit verbal, invitation to a holiday party, I get excited, check the calendar and…

    NOOOOOOOOO!

    John’s commencement is December 14th. And I’m thinking I’ll be hosting some sort of get together afterwards, though I had better get planning. Now.

    I would so be there otherwise.

    Damn.

    PS – I was just at Lewellyn’s on Friday night. Love their fried pickles.


Leave a Reply

Categories

