Posted by: heartfull | November 12, 2007

Potty Success

As of this weekend, I am calling Chip potty trained.  He didn’t wear a diaper all weekend (except at night.)  I’m thinking I should feel a little weepy, being the last and all.  And I do, a little.  But I’m so enjoying this two year old that I just don’t miss the baby.

Chip is 27 months, which means he trained 5 months later than Mare but something like 8 months earlier than Bird.  In actuality, I think I could have had him out of diapers a month or so ago, but I just didn’t have the energy to do it.  It would have taken effort  then.  This weekend we more just a matter of me being vigilant and quick-acting.

At this point, Chip yells “pee-pee!” when he has to go and mom runs him into the toilet.  At the restaurant last night, he said it just as our food came.  Crap.  I hate cold food.  So I jump up and run him to the restroom.  He doesn’t go.  We return to our seats, and he says pee-pee! again.  Grrrrr.  Again with the running to the restroom.  He still doesn’t go.

The steak sandwich was good, but would have been better warm.

He still can’t wear underwear; they feel too much like diapers.  I’m thinking we’ll leave him free for a couple  weeks, make sure that asking to go potty is a habit, then start wearing training pants.

Leave a Reply

Categories

