Posted by: heartfull | November 12, 2007

Dumb and dumber.

It really bites when you screw up at work. But it is a lot worse when you work for your father.

We found out today that I messed up big time last week. And he is mad and telling me, quite often, just how annoyed he is by my stupidity. Ouch. I imagine being told you are stupid hurts no matter the situation. But when it is your parent telling you that, it hurts deeply. There is a lesson here…

I’m guilty of implying that my child did not make the best choice. Which is fine, because she makes the wrong choices pretty often and she has to learn from her mistakes. But when your child interprets the criticism as “you are dumb” as opposed to “that was not the best choice” than you know you haven’t communicated clearly. And just this weekend Bird’s response to me was “I am not dumb!”

Ouch.

Responses

  1. It’s amazing how our words don’t always communicate what WE think they are! Yet those who receive them know EXACTLY what they mean! That’s huge reason behind the scripture’s exhortation to “say only what is beneficial for those who hear, that it may build them up” (Ephesians 4:29). Great, thought-provoking post!

  2. I only wish I could live up to the biblical lessons all the time. My children deserve exactly that.

    I’m working on it one day at a time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

