Posted by: heartfull | October 29, 2007

Here we go again.

As it turns out, Judy Moody was a good choice for Bird to read this morning. I just got off the phone with Emmy, and it was bad this morning.

I was hoping we wouldn’t have to go back and see Dr. Tim. I think, though, that we do. She needs to develop some coping skills. Something besides screaming, hitting and general nastiness. That was her profile this morning. She told Emmy that she had a right to be by herself when she was feeling like this. Which is true. Except for that little thing called the school bell. When Emmy pointed this out, Bird spit out that she saw her report card and she was only tardy twice this quarter, not ten times like Emmy had told her. When Emmy finally got her in the car, she terrorized Mare the whole way to school.

My Saturday post this weekend? About my kids playing outside? While it was a wonderful afternoon, I failed to mention the complete meltdown Bird had over going to her soccer game in the morning. She did not want to go. And it wasn’t until we had a huge argument involving screaming and crying by all that she gave in. Not going is not an option in my book – the team does not have enough players and we committed. But how do you get an 8 year old to go? I made crappy threats that she could care less about. I yelled, which she could care less about. Then I completely lost it. John took over and made the same mistakes I had just made because it is so completely frustrating to deal with her when she is like this. We were both engaged in her tantrum, which is exactly what we weren’t supposed to do (per the $160/hour doctor.)

It is almost like she has to go completely over the edge, and take me and her dad with her, before she gives in. And when it is over? She is fine. She was cheerful, lovely and pleasant the rest of the day on Saturday and she will be fine when I pick her up from school today.

I’m at a loss.

Responses

  1. […] heartfull added an interesting post on Here we go again..Here’s a small excerpt:While it was a wonderful afternoon, I failed to mention the complete meltdown Bird had over going to her soccer game in the morning. She did not want to go. And it wasn’t until we had a huge argument involving screaming and crying by … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

