Posted by: heartfull | October 28, 2007

Saturday Afternoon

Friday afternoons about 1:00 pm are my favorite time of the week for “me”.  The two oldest  are at school and Chip is hopefully napping.  I have the whole weekend ahead of me.  I refuse to do anything domestic on Friday afternoons.  I put my feet up, read a book, and enjoy the two hours I have before the girls have to be picked up from school.

Those two hours are my time.  While I love them, though, I have to honestly say that lazy Saturday afternoons are my favorite time as a mother.  John is hopefully napping with Chip.  This isn’t always the case, though, as John is in grad school and many times he is actually studying.  But this is his last semester and he is taking it easy, for better or worse.  Anyways, I’m usually busy doing something or other, but what I truly love is the sounds of Bird and Mare playing outside.  Sometimes the neighbor girl joins them, sometimes it is just them.  But they rock and roll, playing loud and fast, disturbing the whole neighborhood in their youthful enthusiasm – though I’m sure the neighbors love the music as much as I do.

The laughter and squeals are pure childhood happiness and nothing could make me happier.

Leave a Reply

Categories

