Posted by: heartfull | October 11, 2007

Crazy

Remember those proclamations we make when they are babies? One (of many) of mine was that my kids will never have too many activities. One per child was it. And I totally think that was a great idea. I admire moms who maintain that. I wish I could be that mom. But apparently, I can’t.
The child loves all of her activities. She just doesn’t love doing all of them. In the same week.

  • Monday nights from 7:00 to 7:45 are group piano lessons (as in, I can’t change that god-awful time.)
  • Tuesdays from 4:30 to 5:30 is Choir; Soccer is from 7:00 to 8:00 (w-a-y too late for 8 year olds.)
  • Wednesdays are open (though we have Brownies once a month right after school.)
  • Thursdays from 5:30 to 6:30 is ballet

It is too much. Thankfully, soccer will be done in less than a month. But is that enough? B was going through a very, very rough patch – lots of tantrums, nastiness, etc. It was disruptive to the whole family, to say the least. I have become super diligent this past week about getting her in bed between 7:30 and 7:45 and things have improved dramatically. Except for Mondays, when she doesn’t get in bed until 8:20 or so. We skipped soccer on Tuesday.

My friend advised we drop them. Or at least one. Her 8 year old does one activity. Her 5 year old doesn’t do any. I listened to her (since I had called her for advice.) Then I proceeded with the buts…

B loves soccer and it is almost over anyways. She also adores ballet. I paid $380 for Choir. I can’t just give that money away. We truly believe piano is in her long term interest. Blah, blah, blah.

So, while I want to have a nice, quiet existence, my lack of one is my own doing. And I don’t regret it, as long as I get her to bed on time.

Responses

  1. I hear you! I’m struggling with that too, and my kids are younger. My 4.5yo is really not old enough for a 9-3 school day followed by an activity. But she has two – karate (since her brother does it, we have to go there anyway, so might as well), and dance, because her best friend does it and she begged me, and I love dance too. And of course both are good for her, and she loves them. I find myself just mentally noting how many other families have so many more activities than we do, so see, I’m not overdoing it. Ug.

  2. Thanks for commenting :)

    I totally justify my kids’ activity level by comparing to others. And that is why I’m feeling so bad – my good friend, whose mothering I greatly admire, sticks to the one activity per child rule. Shoot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

